How do I Limit Access to only the Greetly App? Introducing Guided Access.

If you want to use your Apple iPad tablet for a singular purpose -- to create a great reception experience for your space -- that means limiting people from using other apps like Safari, Maps or the Camera.

 

If you want to use your Apple iPad tablet for a singular purpose -- to create a great reception experience for your space -- that means limiting people from using other apps like Safari, Maps or the Camera.

This is where Guided Access comes in play.

What is Guided Access?

Guided Access is a setting on the iPad which limits your device to a single app and lets you control which app features are available.

Set up Guided Access

Tap Settings > General > Accessibility > Guided Access to set up Guided Access. From there, here's what you can do:

  • Turn Guided Access on or off 
  • Set a passcode that controls the use of Guided Access and prevents someone from leaving an active session
  • Toggle Mirror Display Auto-Lock ON

Start a Guided Access session

To start a Guided Access session, follow these steps:

  1. Open the app you want to use.
  2. Triple-click the Home button.
  3. Adjust settings for the session, and then tap Start.

End a Guided Access session

If you're using Touch ID on your iOS device, you can use it to end a Guided Access session. First, go to Settings > General > Accessibility > Guided Access > Passcode Settings and turn on Touch ID. Now, when you're using Guided Access, you can end the session by following these steps:

  1. Press the Home button once.
  2. Use Touch ID.

If you're not using Touch ID on your device, follow these steps to end a Guided Access session:

  1. Triple-click the Home button.
  2. Enter the Guided Access passcode.

For the full article, head over to the the Apple Support site at: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202612